Honorary Membership

Honorary Membership

Pioneers in the theory and practise of transplantation

ESOT Honorary Memberships are awarded every two years to prominent researchers and practitioners who have made significant advances in the field of transplantation.

New Honorary Members are celebrated during the biennial ESOT Congress.


Honorary Members

19th ESOT Congress, Copenhagen, 15-18 September 2019   

Guy Alexandre, Belgium
Henri Bismuth, France
Koichi Tanaka, Japan


Honorary Members

18th ESOT Congress, Barcelona, 24-27 September 2017   

Jean-Michel Dubernard, Lyon, France  

Sharon Hunt, Stanford, USA


17th ESOT Congress, Brussels, 13-16 September 2015   

SG Lee, Seoul, South Korea   

Gerhard Opelz, Heidelberg, Germany 


16th ESOT Congress, Vienna, 8-11 September 2013

Raimund Margreiter, Innsbruck, Austria 

Paul Ichiro Terasaki, Los Angeles, United States


15th ESOT Congress, Glasgow, 4-7 September 2011

Leslie Brent, Birmingham, United Kingdom 

Goran Klintmalm, Dallas, United States 


14th ESOT Congress, Paris, 30 August -2 September 2009

Sir Peter Morris, Oxford, United Kingdom 

Christian Cabrol, Paris, France 


13th ESOT Congress, Prague, 29 September – 2 October 2007

Masatochi Makuuchi, Tokyo, Japan  

Jon Van Rood, Leiden, The Netherlands 


12th ESOT Congress, Geneva, 15 – 19 October 2005

Sir Roy Calne, Cambridge, United Kingdom 

René Kuus, Paris, France 

Thomas Starzl, Pittsburgh, United States